Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


At Paris World Golf Championship Omar Khalid leads Pakistan team

Pakistan’s top golfer, Omar Khalid, will be leading a three-man team to Paris later this week to compete in the World Amateur Team Golf Championships.

On the Pakistani squad, 18-year-old Omar will be joined by Salman Jahangir and Yashal Shah as they compete against 72 other countries for the Eisenhower Trophy at the World Team Championship.

On Sunday night (August 28), the Pakistani team flew out of Lahore and landed in Paris. The team had two days of practice, Monday and Tuesday.

The prestigious Le Golf National (Albatros Course) and Le Golf de Saint-Nom-la-Bretèche (Red Course) will host the four-day competition from August 31 to September 3. One of the world’s most difficult courses, Le Golf National, will play host to the 2024 Olympic golf tournament in France.

The World Amateur Team Championships are a biennial international amateur golf championship organized by the International Golf Federation (IGF). The Eisenhower Trophy is for men, while the Espirito Santo Trophy is awarded to women. The 72 participating teams in the men’s Eisenhower Trophy tournament are tied for the most ever, with the records set in Turkey in 2010 and Ireland in 2018.

Over four days, two or three players from each team compete in a stroke play format over a total of 54 holes. Team scores are calculated by adding the round’s two lowest individual scores for each team. The team’s score for the title is the sum of the four days’ play (72 holes).

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the competition was canceled in 2020, and the final tournament was held in September 2018 at Carton House in Ireland.

In 1994, when the World Amateur Team Championships were contested at Le Golf National, the United States swept both the men’s and women’s tournaments. Members of the team included Carol Semple Thompson, winner of seven USGA titles, and Tiger Woods, winner of 15 majors. Sarah Ingram, captain of the USA Curtis Cup Team, won the trophy twice.

Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Colin Morikawa (all of the United States), Rory McIlroy (Ireland), Sergio Garcia (Spain), Vijay Singh (Fiji), Colin Montgomerie (Great Britain and Ireland), Paul Casey (Great Britain and Ireland), Luke Donald (Great Britain and Ireland), Camilo Villegas (Colombia), Charl Schwartzel (South Africa), Louis Oosthuizen (Belgium) (Germany).

In 2022, France will once again play home to the World Amateur Team Championship (WATC) at Le Golf National and le Golf de Saint-Nom-la-Bretèche. In 2018, Le Golf National hosted the Ryder Cup, the largest team golf match for professional players. The first WATC was held in 1964 at the Golf de Saint-Germain, and the 1994 men’s and women’s tournaments were held at Le Golf National and the Golf de la Boulie, respectively, in France.

The list of teams at the World Cup is as follows: The following countries and territories have qualified for the 2018 FIFA World CupTM: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Bermuda, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Cayman Islands, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark (Defending Champions), Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Guam, Guatemala, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Islamic Republic of Iran, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Lebanon, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Morocco,

Mahnur Mehfooz
Written By

Mahnur is MS(development Studies)Student at NUST University, completed BS Hons in Eng Literature. Content Writer, Policy analyst, Climate Change specialist, Teacher, HR Recruiter.

Latest Updates

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif today approved the name of Syed Asim Munir as the next army chief of Pakistan. At present, Lt-General Syed...

Latest Updates

Umar Farooq Zahoor, buyers of Toshakhana watch and other expensive gifts, challenged Imran Khan over a sue-threat and said he was ready to face...

Latest Updates

ISLAMABAD: Family members of army chief General Qamar Javed Bajwa have become billionaires in the past six years _ during the six-year extended tenure...

Latest Updates

So far, over 1,100 residents of Faisalabad have fallen victim to online fraud in 2022, losing millions of rupees from their bank accounts.