Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


PDM not to contest by-polls on 34 PTI seats: Interior Minister

ISLAMABAD: Interior Minister Rana Sanaullah said that Pakistan Democratic Alliance (PDM) will not field its candidate in by-polls on 34 PTI seats, vacated after NA Speaker accepted resignations of PTI MNAs.

He said that it is useless to contest elections only for two to three months. Rana said that by-elections on 34 NA seats will be held within next 90 days and general elections will be due in August/Sept 2023.

Hence, PDM has decided not to field its candidate against PTI candidates in the by-elections. Interior Minister Rana Sanaullah stated this while speaking in a TV talk show on Tuesday night.

Earlier, Speaker of the National Assembly Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf accepted resignations of 34 MNAs of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf on Tuesday. He also accepted resignation of MNA Sheikh Rashid who is the chief of his own party _ Awami Muslim League.

NA Speaker took this decision two days after PTI chairman Imran Khan said that Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif would have to take a vote of confidence. Khan also said his party would return to the parliament.

NA Speaker also approved the resignation of Sheikh Rashid, chief of Awami Muslim League.

Importantly, in April last year, 131 PTI MNAs submitted their resignations en bloc when Imran Khan’s government was removed through a no-confidence move.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission of Pakistan has de-notified 35 MNAs _ 34 PTI and one Awami Muslim League MNAs.

According to ECP’s notification, “Consequent upon the acceptance of resignations by the Speaker, National Assembly of Pakistan and in pursuance of the Notification No F.21 (4)/2022- lagis dated 17th January, 2023 of National Assembly of Pakistan, the Election Commission of Pakistan hereby de-notifies MNAs of PTI and AML with immediate effect.”

The de-notified lawmakers include Murad Saeed, Omar Ayub Khan, Asad Qaiser, Pervaiz Khattak, Imran Khattak, Sheharyar Afridi, Ali Amin Khan, Noorul Haq Qadri, Raja Khurram Shahzad Nawaz, Ali Nawaz Awan, Asad Umar, Sadaqat Ali Khan, Ghulam Sarwar Khan, Sheikh Rashid Shafique, Mansoor Hayat Khan, Fawad Ahmed, Sanaullah Khan Mastikhel, Hammad Azhar, Shafqat Mahmood, Malik Muhammad Amir Dogar, Shah Mahmood Qureshi, Zartaj Gul, Faheem Khan, Saifur Rehman, Muhammad Alamgir Khan, Syed Ali Haider Zaidi, Aftab Hussain Saddique, Ataullah, Aftab Jehangir, Muhammad Aslam Khan, Muhammad Najeeb Haroon and Qasim Khan Suri.

More to follow……

Javed Mahmood
Written By

I am an experienced writer, analyst, and author. My exposure in English journalism spans more than 28 years. In the past, I have been working with daily The Muslim (Lahore Bureau), daily Business Recorder (Lahore/Islamabad Bureaus), Daily Times, Islamabad, daily The Nation (Lahore and Karachi). With daily The Nation, I have served as Resident Editor, Karachi. Since 2009, I have been working as a Freelance Writer/Editor for American organizations.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


ISLAMABAD: Mufti Saeed said that he solemnised twice Nikkah of Imran Khan with Bushra Bibi. Mufti Saeed, who is a member of PTI’s core committee,...

Latest Updates

PESHAWAR/ISLAMABAD: Azam Khan, known as a technocrat, took oath as caretaker chief minister of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province. Governor KP Haji Ghulam Ali administered the...


LAHORE: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) is to arbitrate a candidate for the slot of the caretaker chief minister Punjab after a parliamentary...

Latest Updates

RAWALPINDI: In an attempt to enhance role of women police officers, the Punjab police have decided to post one female SHO whom the district...