Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


no party emerges as Gov forming in GB elections

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), the ruling party at the Centre, has emerged as the leading party after it secured 8 out of the 23 Gilgit Baltistan Legislative Assembly seats in the elections held on Sunday.

As per unofficial results, the PPP came in second with 3 seats bagged, PML-N secured 2 seats, while the JUI-F and MWM secured 1 seat each. On the other hand, 7 seats went to independent candidates who will play a vital role in the formation of the next Gilgit-Baltistan government.

The result of GBA 18 is delayed where PTI’s Gulbar Khan was leading.

PPP GB President Amjad Hussain Advocate managed to win from 2 constituenciesGBA-1 Gilgit-1 and GBA-4 Nagar-1. It is for the first time that any candidate has won two seats in the regional election.

PTI’s Col (retd) Obaidullah won GBA-6 Hunza with independent Noor Muhammad as the runner-up. PTI’s Raja Zakria won GBA-7 Skardu-1 with former chief minister Syed Mehdi Shah of the PPP as the runner-up.

PTI’s Shamsul Haq Lone won GBA-14 Astor-2 with PPP’s Dr Muzaffar Ali as runner-up. Muhammad Kazim of Majlis-e-Wahdat Muslimeen won GBA-8 Skardu-2 with PPP’s Syed Muhammad Ali Shah as the runner -up. PPP’s Engineer Muhammad Ismail won GBA-24 Ganchha-3 with PTI’s Syed Shamsuddin as the runner up.

Independent candidate Mushtaq Hussain won GBA-22 Ganchha-1 with PTI’s Muhammad Ibrahim Sanai as the runner-up. PTI’s Raja Azam Khan won GBA-12 Shigar-1 with PPP’s Imran Nadeem as the runner-up. PTI’s Haji Gulbar Khan won GBA-18 Diamer-4 with independent candidate Malik Kifayat as the runner-up. Nationalist leader and independent candidate Nawaz Khan Naji won GBA-19 Ghizer-1 with Zafar Shadam Khail as runner-up.

Independent candidate Abdul Hameed won GBA-23 Ganchha-2 and defeated the Amina Ansari of PTI. PTI’s Khalid Khurshid Khan won GBA-13 Astor-1 with PML-N’s Rana Farman Ali as runner-up.

Independent candidate Javed Ali Manwa won GBA-5 Nagar-2. PTI’s candidate and general secretary Fathe Ullah won GBA-2 Gilgit-2 with PPP’s Jamil Ahmad as the runner-up. PML-N’s Hafiz Hafeez-ur-Rehman, the former chief minister of GB, clinched the 3rd position.

Source: Geo News

Latest Updates

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif today approved the name of Syed Asim Munir as the next army chief of Pakistan. At present, Lt-General Syed...

Latest Updates

Umar Farooq Zahoor, buyers of Toshakhana watch and other expensive gifts, challenged Imran Khan over a sue-threat and said he was ready to face...

Latest Updates

ISLAMABAD: Family members of army chief General Qamar Javed Bajwa have become billionaires in the past six years _ during the six-year extended tenure...

Latest Updates

So far, over 1,100 residents of Faisalabad have fallen victim to online fraud in 2022, losing millions of rupees from their bank accounts.