Law 41.5: Deliberate distraction, deception or obstruction of batsman
41.5.1 In addition to 41.4, it is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball.
South Africa’s wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock was guilty of fake fielding, which is not allowed under International Cricket Council (ICC)’s rules and regulations, during Fakhar Zaman’s dismissal in the second ODI between Pakistan and Proteas on Sunday.
A direct hit from long off, by Aiden Markram, ended Zaman’s fantastic innings of 193 runs off 155 balls as Pakistan fell 17-run short of South Africa’s 341/6 in 50 overs.
While completing the second run, Zaman thought the throw was going to the bowler’s end but the throw, instead, was at the keeper’s end which led to his dismissal. Meanwhile, De Kock faked a bit by pointing at the bowler as if the ball was going to him. This made Zaman slow down in his second run and contributed towards his departure from the crease.