Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Breaking News

PML-N is leading in by-elections on 21 seats of NA and provincial assemblies

ISLAMABAD: Unofficial and preliminary results indicate that the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has emerged as the front-runner in the by-polls held for nearly two dozen national and provincial seats on Sunday.

Out of the 21 national and provincial seats, PML-N has secured 4 seats from Punjab, which is its stronghold.

The Sharif-led party also claimed victory in one provincial assembly seat from Balochistan and one national assembly seat from Lahore.

Meanwhile, the Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP) managed to secure one provincial assembly seat from Lahore, while the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) won a national assembly seat from Kamber Shahdadtkot.

The by-elections, held following the February 8 general elections, saw participation from major political parties including PML-N, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI)-backed Sunni Ittehad Council, and PPP.

Voting commenced at 8 am and concluded at 5 pm, amidst sporadic clashes between workers of different political parties in Punjab.

To ensure the integrity and security of the electoral process, the federal government temporarily suspended mobile phone services in several districts of Punjab and Balochistan.

Upon the request of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), the government deployed troops from the Pakistan Army and Civil Armed Forces (CAF) during the polling process.

Tragically, clashes between PML-N and Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC) workers resulted in the death of one PML-N worker, Muhammad Yousaf, in Narowal. Polling in this constituency was halted as a result.

The by-elections were conducted for five national assembly seats, 12 Punjab Assembly seats, two each in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan Assemblies, and one in Sindh Assembly.

Among the contested national assembly seats were NA-8 and NA-44 (KP), NA-119 and NA-132 (Punjab), and NA-196 (Sindh).

Provincial assembly seats up for grabs included PK-22 and PK-91 (KP), PB-20 and PB-22 (Balochistan), and PS-80 (Sindh). In Punjab Assembly, by-polls were held for PP-32 (Gujrat), PP-36 (Wazirabad), PP-54 (Narowal), PP-93 (Bhakkar), PP-139 (Sheikhupura), PP-147, PP-149, PP-158, PP-164 (Lahore), PP-266 (Rahim Yar Khan), and PP-290 (Dera Ghazi Khan).

To be updated further………………

Avatar photo
Written By

I am an experienced writer, analyst, and author. My exposure in English journalism spans more than 28 years. In the past, I have been working with daily The Muslim (Lahore Bureau), daily Business Recorder (Lahore/Islamabad Bureaus), Daily Times, Islamabad, daily The Nation (Lahore and Karachi). With daily The Nation, I have served as Resident Editor, Karachi. Since 2009, I have been working as a Freelance Writer/Editor for American organizations.

Breaking News

Advance Salaries The Punjab government has announced that public sector employees will receive their salaries in advance ahead of Eid ul-Adha 2024. This decision,...


Indian actor and model Sonam Bajwa, celebrated for her open appreciation of Pakistani talent, once again grabbed headlines for her admiration of cross-border celebrities....


Pakistani trailblazers Ammara Sharif and Dr. Sana Jamil are poised to make history as the first female duo from Pakistan to conquer the daunting...


ISLAMABAD: Pakistan has decided to restrict foreign travel for non-filers, with exceptions for those traveling for Hajj, Umrah, or educational purposes, as the country...